Who Taught You?

It was not my intention to post “randomly” on this blog, but my favorite blogger has extended a writing prompt, and I thought it would be fitting to respond.

Classroom As Microcosm is written by Siobhan Curious, a college professor in Montreal. I recommend her blog to readers, writers, and teachers, as well as anyone who enjoys well-written posts. Prompt #3: The Writing on Learning Exchange: Who Taught You? is what I will be addressing today. If this prompt tickles your fancy and you are willing to share, write a response and post the link in a comment.

Who Taught You?

I was one of those introverted children who always have their noses buried between the pages of a book. My mother could call my name from across the room, and I would be entirely unaware. She used to scold me. “Haley,” she would say, shaking her head, “I wish you would open your ears.”

Funnily, she had no one to blame but herself. It was my mother and father who laid the foundation for my love of books and learning, which turned into a passionate love for school. Homework? Delightful. It is a rare breed of child that can honestly say they want to go to school because they believe learning is the best way to pass the time. I am so blessed for parents who emphasized reading and learning during those utterly important formative years. I plan on repeating their teaching methods with my own children. Story hour, bedtime stories, weekly library trips, which became daily trips when I was old enough to walk their by myself, and a dedication to quality education.

Now that I’m in college, I’m constantly being asked why would anyone want to be an English teacher? (That is what I’m studying to be.) Well, I’d like to blame my career decision not only on my parents, but also on J.K. Rowling and Tamora Pierce. These two authors wrote the books that filled my free time from the ages of nine to sixteen (and I still read Harry Potter regularly). I wanted to do what they did: write amazing fantasy stories with which adolescents would fall in love. I haven’t achieved that dream (yet), but they taught me how to dream it.

I am grateful to have had such wonderful teachers, whether they knew their role in my life or not. Who taught you?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t know Tamora Pierce, but my students and I just finished studying Harry Potter and the PS, and every time I read it, I’m reminded of what a wonderful storyteller JKR is and how lucky I am to have her books for my classroom! Thanks for responding to this prompt…

  2. Excellent response to the prompt. As my daughter has finally begun to embrace books as much as I have, it’s exciting. I hope she has English teacher’s like you, and I hope someday she recognizes what I’ve tried to teach her.

  3. Pat says:

    I’m so glad you had such great influences in your life! I can’t imagine not being able to read! Great response to the prompt!

Leave a Reply

