Minnesota

As the end of my second year of college approaches, I take some little pride in the quantity of literature through which I have traveled. Twenty-seven works of fiction will have been greedily (or sometimes reluctantly) devoured by my eyes when I lay down my pencil after the last exam. It might be twenty-eight. I’m having trouble keeping track.

Has the journey been difficult? Yes, at times. Will it continue to be so? Probably.

I’m grateful, however, for the wealth of knowledge and experience the authors have imparted to me. I’ve learned that not books don’t have to be classics in order to have substance. It is not necessarily the complexity of the language that makes the story. Anne Tyler has just as much to say about familial bonds as Shakespeare, and John Irving can stir up my emotions and bring me to tears as well as J.K. Rowling. I have also been fortunate in having professors who are truly passionate about literature and teaching. They have taught me how to be an avid reader while still being an excellent teacher.

My current literary journey began at a college in southern Minnesota, and it will end there as well, but I would like to catalogue for you the destinations I visited along the way. The summer will start a new journey. Hopefully, I can get caught up in time to write about my summer reading as it happens.

I did read some books just for fun during Christmas break. The Hunger Games trilogy and book one of Games of Thrones. I also am in the process of compiling a summer reading list. I find this to be the most effective was of preventing myself from simply rereading the entire works of Jane Austen or the Harry Potter series, which I would most certainly do. Here is a poll for the list: 

My reading list for the 2012-13 school year:

  • Oliver Twist
  • Jane Eyre
  • The Invisible Man
  • Far From the Madding Crowd
  • Rebecca
  • The Woman in White
  • The Great Gatsby
  • Empire Falls
  • Doctor Faustus
  • The Sirens of Titan
  • White Noise
  • One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  • Housekeeping
  • Rabbit, Run
  • The Accidental Tourist
  • A Prayer for Owen Meany
  • Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
  • Catch-22
  • Hamlet
  • Othello
  • King Lear
  • Macbeth
  • Antony and Cleopatra
  • Cymbeline
  • The Winter’s Tale
  • The Tempest
  • The Second Shepherd’s Play

I sometimes think I should add up the pages, but maybe I’d rather not know.

Leave a Reply

